Author Topic: >>>READ BEFORE POSTING!!<<< - List of Issues & Fixes  (Read 85292 times)

Offline Rikard Blixt

  • Administrator
  • Mr. Spam
  • *
  • Posts: 1919
  • 'The British Magnet'
    • View Profile
    • Eastern Front
>>>READ BEFORE POSTING!!<<< - List of Issues & Fixes
« on: January 21, 2010, 10:09:15 AM »
"Launcher Crashes on Startup. I'm using Window XP on a none-admin account

"The application failed to initialize properly (0xc0000135)"

"EF_LAUNCHER.EXE - .NET FRAMEWORK INSTALLATION ERROR - UNABLE TO FIND A VERSION OF THE RUNTIME TO RUN THIS APPLICATION"

The Play Button and the Update Button are not showing

I can't play as Soviets, they are locked!

When I launch EF, normal CoH starts up without any modifications

When I finish loading the map, the game crashes

My VoIP (Skype, Ventrilo, Teamspeak, Mumble etc) Push to Talk key doesn't work

My Steam, XFire (etc) overlay is not working

My Auto Hotkey (or similar program) is not working

I have flickering texture glitches on tanks whenever they are shot

I have flickering lights on my buildings

Launcher crashes when updating

I got an "Unable to create report. Please verify there's enough space in your TEMP folder" error message

Eastern Front just freezes and the sound effects loops and I have to restart my PC

I got a "Sync error" message when i start a match

You cannot connect to lobby games (Not Compatible/Filtered)

"Unable to find Company of Heroes directory" OR "Could not locate RelicCoH.exe" OR "Game is up to date" OR "Nothing Happens" when clicking play

Remember that:

Eastern Front is compatible with ONLY the following product:
  • Company of Heroes (New Steam Version)

For more information, you can look at this topic:
Eastern Front Download and Installation Guide

Always make sure you have installed Company of Heroes before installing Eastern Front
No matter how close Eastern Front may look as an expansion, it is still a MOD, that's why we call it "unofficial expansion". If you haven't installed any Company of Heroes game, you won't be able to run Eastern Front, because it uses all the main files of the Company of Heroes directory.

For more information relating installions, you can look at this topic:
Eastern Front Download and Installation Guide


If you have any other problem or wasn't fixed by the advices on this thread, you can open a topic about it, just remember to upload the files just right after getting the error:

warnings.log
Located on My Games\Company of Heroes\. For any Eastern Front related errors.

scarlog.####.####.txt
Located on My Games\Company of Heroes\LogFiles. For SCAR related errors. Replace the "#" for the current date and time.

ailog.####.####.txt
Located on My Games\Company of Heroes\LogFiles. For AI related errors. Replace the "#" for the current date and time.

somefile.dmp
Only for game crashes.
Located on:
WinXP -> C:\Documents and Settings\username\Local Settings\Temp(you can access faster if you use the run box with %temp% command).

Win Vista & 7 -> C:\users\username\AppData\Local\Temp(you can access faster if you use the run box with %temp% command).

Or in weird cases, sometimes in C:\WINDOWS\Temp (you can access faster if you use the run box with temp command).

The dmp file has a generic name but you should be able to identify it by checking the date of creation.

EF_Launcher_Log.txt
Located on CoH Directory\.
Only for Launcher issues.

Screenshots
When possible you can upload screenshots of your error to make it easier to identify. Either you can upload them using an external server such imageshack, tinypic or your favorite one, or use EF's option(before submiting a reply, Additional Options->Attach).
« Last Edit: September 07, 2013, 01:22:40 PM by Blackbishop »
Valar Morghulis
Quote
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: BULLSHIT
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: I'll eat a tree if this won't work now
[CoH:EF-Dev]Rizz: ok
[CoH:EF-Dev]Rizz: I'll hold you to it
<10 minutes later>
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: I think I really gotta eat a tree...
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: got a decent one?

Offline Rikard Blixt

  • Administrator
  • Mr. Spam
  • *
  • Posts: 1919
  • 'The British Magnet'
    • View Profile
    • Eastern Front
Re: READ BEFORE POSTING!! - List of Issues & Fixes
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2011, 11:51:43 PM »
Launcher Crashes on Startup. I'm using Window XP on a none-admin account
The Launcher requires admin permissions to start. Please right click the shortcut and select "Run as...". Select an admin account and enter the password (if you have one).
« Last Edit: July 15, 2013, 04:49:32 AM by Rikard Blixt »
Valar Morghulis
Quote
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: BULLSHIT
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: I'll eat a tree if this won't work now
[CoH:EF-Dev]Rizz: ok
[CoH:EF-Dev]Rizz: I'll hold you to it
<10 minutes later>
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: I think I really gotta eat a tree...
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: got a decent one?

Offline Rikard Blixt

  • Administrator
  • Mr. Spam
  • *
  • Posts: 1919
  • 'The British Magnet'
    • View Profile
    • Eastern Front
Re: READ BEFORE POSTING!! - List of Issues & Fixes
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2011, 11:51:59 PM »
"The application failed to initialize properly (0xc0000135)"
Install .net framework 3.5.

If you use Windows 7, it is already included but it could be disabled. If you want to be sure it is enabled, please follow these steps:

  • Open Control Panel
  • Go to Programs and Features
  • If you only see a "Program" option click it and then go to the aforementioned section.
  • Click in the option of the left menu "turn windows features on/off", a new window should pop up.
  • Look for the Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5.1 entry and check if its enabled.
  • If it is disabled, you'll have to manually turn this on.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2012, 09:39:21 AM by blackbishop »
Valar Morghulis
Quote
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: BULLSHIT
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: I'll eat a tree if this won't work now
[CoH:EF-Dev]Rizz: ok
[CoH:EF-Dev]Rizz: I'll hold you to it
<10 minutes later>
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: I think I really gotta eat a tree...
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: got a decent one?

Offline Rikard Blixt

  • Administrator
  • Mr. Spam
  • *
  • Posts: 1919
  • 'The British Magnet'
    • View Profile
    • Eastern Front
Re: READ BEFORE POSTING!! - List of Issues & Fixes
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2011, 11:52:08 PM »
"EF_LAUNCHER.EXE - .NET FRAMEWORK INSTALLATION ERROR - UNABLE TO FIND A VERSION OF THE RUNTIME TO RUN THIS APPLICATION"
You are using .net framework version 4. Version 4 is not yet supported. Please downgrade to .net framework version 3.5.
« Last Edit: December 19, 2011, 11:25:53 AM by blackbishop »
Valar Morghulis
Quote
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: BULLSHIT
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: I'll eat a tree if this won't work now
[CoH:EF-Dev]Rizz: ok
[CoH:EF-Dev]Rizz: I'll hold you to it
<10 minutes later>
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: I think I really gotta eat a tree...
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: got a decent one?

Offline Rikard Blixt

  • Administrator
  • Mr. Spam
  • *
  • Posts: 1919
  • 'The British Magnet'
    • View Profile
    • Eastern Front
Re: READ BEFORE POSTING!! - List of Issues & Fixes
« Reply #4 on: January 27, 2011, 11:52:55 PM »
The Play Button and the Update Button are not showing
Patch up to latest EF Version. Make sure that the Launcher is shut off while patching.



I can't play as Soviets, they are locked!
When I launch EF, normal CoH starts up without any modifications
When I finish loading the map, the game crashes
This is caused by using an unsupported Company of Heroes patch (a patch before 2.700). Please update to the latest Company of Heroes patch (2.700).
« Last Edit: July 21, 2013, 01:23:04 AM by Rikard Blixt »
Valar Morghulis
Quote
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: BULLSHIT
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: I'll eat a tree if this won't work now
[CoH:EF-Dev]Rizz: ok
[CoH:EF-Dev]Rizz: I'll hold you to it
<10 minutes later>
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: I think I really gotta eat a tree...
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: got a decent one?

Offline Rikard Blixt

  • Administrator
  • Mr. Spam
  • *
  • Posts: 1919
  • 'The British Magnet'
    • View Profile
    • Eastern Front
Re: READ BEFORE POSTING!! - List of Issues & Fixes
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2011, 11:53:54 PM »
My VoIP (Skype, Ventrilo, Teamspeak, Mumble etc) push to talk key doesn't work
My Steam, XFire (etc) overlays are not working
My Auto Hotkey (or similar program) are not working

Start the program (Teamspeak, Steam, Auto Hotkey etc) with "Run as Admin".
« Last Edit: July 15, 2013, 04:56:51 AM by Rikard Blixt »
Valar Morghulis
Quote
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: BULLSHIT
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: I'll eat a tree if this won't work now
[CoH:EF-Dev]Rizz: ok
[CoH:EF-Dev]Rizz: I'll hold you to it
<10 minutes later>
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: I think I really gotta eat a tree...
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: got a decent one?

Offline Rikard Blixt

  • Administrator
  • Mr. Spam
  • *
  • Posts: 1919
  • 'The British Magnet'
    • View Profile
    • Eastern Front
Re: READ BEFORE POSTING!! - List of Issues & Fixes
« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2011, 11:54:03 PM »
I have flickering texture glitches on tanks whenever they are shot
Turn off 'OBJECT SCARRING' in your Options.

I have flickering lights on my buildings
Turn off 'SHADOWS' in your Options.
« Last Edit: December 19, 2011, 11:25:27 AM by blackbishop »
Valar Morghulis
Quote
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: BULLSHIT
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: I'll eat a tree if this won't work now
[CoH:EF-Dev]Rizz: ok
[CoH:EF-Dev]Rizz: I'll hold you to it
<10 minutes later>
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: I think I really gotta eat a tree...
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: got a decent one?

Offline Rikard Blixt

  • Administrator
  • Mr. Spam
  • *
  • Posts: 1919
  • 'The British Magnet'
    • View Profile
    • Eastern Front
Re: READ BEFORE POSTING!! - List of Issues & Fixes
« Reply #7 on: January 27, 2011, 11:54:40 PM »
Launcher crashes when updating
This likely means that the launcher cannot connect to the internet. Check Proxy Settings and your Firewall to ensure they aren't blocking the Launcher's connections.
« Last Edit: July 15, 2013, 04:51:22 AM by Rikard Blixt »
Valar Morghulis
Quote
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: BULLSHIT
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: I'll eat a tree if this won't work now
[CoH:EF-Dev]Rizz: ok
[CoH:EF-Dev]Rizz: I'll hold you to it
<10 minutes later>
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: I think I really gotta eat a tree...
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: got a decent one?

Offline Rikard Blixt

  • Administrator
  • Mr. Spam
  • *
  • Posts: 1919
  • 'The British Magnet'
    • View Profile
    • Eastern Front
Re: READ BEFORE POSTING!! - List of Issues & Fixes
« Reply #8 on: January 27, 2011, 11:57:15 PM »
I got an "Unable to create report. Please verify there's enough space in your TEMP folder" error message OR Eastern Front just freezes and the sound effects loops and I have to restart my PC

This is a problem you'll likely only find in 32 bit OS.

You can try the following:


Try to have at least 4GB RAM in your pc, remember that Eastern Front uses more resources than Tales of Valor which uses more resources than the previous games(Original Company of Heroes and Opposing Fronts). If the problem persists, you should consider migrating to a 64 bits OS.
« Last Edit: July 15, 2013, 04:54:50 AM by Rikard Blixt »
Valar Morghulis
Quote
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: BULLSHIT
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: I'll eat a tree if this won't work now
[CoH:EF-Dev]Rizz: ok
[CoH:EF-Dev]Rizz: I'll hold you to it
<10 minutes later>
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: I think I really gotta eat a tree...
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: got a decent one?

Offline Rikard Blixt

  • Administrator
  • Mr. Spam
  • *
  • Posts: 1919
  • 'The British Magnet'
    • View Profile
    • Eastern Front
Re: READ BEFORE POSTING!! - List of Issues & Fixes
« Reply #9 on: January 27, 2011, 11:57:45 PM »
I got a "Sync error" message when i start a match
There could be a corrupted file on EF, uninstall and check if Eastern_Front folder exists, if true delete it, then install again EF. If you think your installer might be corrupted, you can check if it's size match (1'993'263'015 bytes - Full Installer for 2.101) on it's properties' window. Make sure that the person you play against do the same thing.

The most common reason for it is however that you have content in "Company of Heroes Relaunch\WW2\DataAttrib" or in "Company of Heroes Relaunch\WW2\Data" folder, they are likely the reason.
« Last Edit: July 15, 2013, 04:46:17 AM by Rikard Blixt »
Valar Morghulis
Quote
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: BULLSHIT
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: I'll eat a tree if this won't work now
[CoH:EF-Dev]Rizz: ok
[CoH:EF-Dev]Rizz: I'll hold you to it
<10 minutes later>
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: I think I really gotta eat a tree...
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: got a decent one?

Offline Rikard Blixt

  • Administrator
  • Mr. Spam
  • *
  • Posts: 1919
  • 'The British Magnet'
    • View Profile
    • Eastern Front
Re: READ BEFORE POSTING!! - List of Issues & Fixes
« Reply #10 on: January 28, 2011, 12:07:50 AM »
You cannot connect to lobby games (Not Compatible/Filtered)
This is the cause of either of a few things. Just remember that you only can play with people using the same version of Eastern Front as you. You can't play with people that are not using Eastern Front.
  • Corrupt Installation
  • Old Eastern Front Patch
  • Certain Skin mods
  • Certain Sound packs
  • Editing Eastern Front module file
  • Editing files of the Eastern Front directory
« Last Edit: July 21, 2013, 01:24:30 AM by Rikard Blixt »
Valar Morghulis
Quote
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: BULLSHIT
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: I'll eat a tree if this won't work now
[CoH:EF-Dev]Rizz: ok
[CoH:EF-Dev]Rizz: I'll hold you to it
<10 minutes later>
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: I think I really gotta eat a tree...
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: got a decent one?

Offline Rikard Blixt

  • Administrator
  • Mr. Spam
  • *
  • Posts: 1919
  • 'The British Magnet'
    • View Profile
    • Eastern Front
Re: READ BEFORE POSTING!! - List of Issues & Fixes
« Reply #11 on: January 28, 2011, 10:08:46 AM »
"Unable to find Company of Heroes directory" OR "Could not locate RelicCoH.exe" OR "Game is up to date" OR "Nothing Happens" when clicking play

Easiest way to fix this is normally to reinstall Eastern Front.

First off, make sure you have installed and started "Company of Heroes Relaunch" at least once before installing Eastern Front. If you haven't, done either of these, the source of the problem is likely here.

Secondly, make sure, while installing, that the install path is correct. Eastern Front MUST be installed in to the "Company of Heroes Relaunch" folder.

Thirdly, double check that the CoH Directory option in the EF launcher settings window has the correct path. Also, make sure when you install any update they also have the correct install path.

For more detailed steps, take a look at the install guide.
« Last Edit: September 07, 2013, 01:25:37 PM by Blackbishop »
Valar Morghulis
Quote
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: BULLSHIT
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: I'll eat a tree if this won't work now
[CoH:EF-Dev]Rizz: ok
[CoH:EF-Dev]Rizz: I'll hold you to it
<10 minutes later>
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: I think I really gotta eat a tree...
[CoH:EF-Dev]Walki: got a decent one?