Company of Heroes: Eastern Front

Author Topic: Command Squad and Criticals  (Read 9387 times)

Offline krupp steel

  • Major
  • *****
  • Posts: 502
    • View Profile
Command Squad and Criticals
« on: September 21, 2012, 04:21:45 AM »
The Soviet Union's command squad Major should get heroic criticals, they tend to get sniped
1-shot so then all of its abilities are gone. Compared to lower officer rank units such as Wehr LT's, Brit LT's or captains, it is pretty sad to see them go down quicker in comparison. The major is usually the one to be sniped first no matter what due to AI targeting, so may as well give the poor guy another shot before going down to lose all abilities.
« Last Edit: December 07, 2014, 09:25:14 PM by 132 »
My personal favorite

Offline GodlikeDennis

  • Donor
  • Poster of the Soviet Union
  • *
  • Posts: 4454
    • View Profile
Re: Command Squad and Starting Squad
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2012, 06:37:35 AM »
Soviets lack a starting squad to represent that they were not well prepared for Barbarossa and so they are distinct from other factions' starting forces. It also balances the fact you can build the CS (strong combat squad) as soon as you build a barracks, which would be up too fast if you started with ingenery. Soviets have a large manpower reserve at the start instead.
If you get into an argument with me, you're wrong.

Offline Cranialwizard

  • Donor
  • Poster of the Soviet Union
  • *
  • Posts: 3270
  • Unknown Soldier
    • View Profile
Re: Command Squad and Starting Squad
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2012, 02:02:49 AM »
The Commander gets sniped because he has higher sniper priority...He gets gunned first because he's an infantry unit that can detect.

Kind of like a Bike. If you see a bike going after a sniper of yours, you focus on the Bike.
"Balancers are 10 a penny"

Offline Walentin 'Walki' L.

  • Developer
  • Poster of the Soviet Union
  • *
  • Posts: 3261
  • Creator of Things
    • View Profile
    • Steam Profile
Re: Command Squad and Starting Squad
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2012, 10:52:35 AM »
The Commander gets sniped because he has higher sniper priority...He gets gunned first because he's an infantry unit that can detect.

He gets only sniped if you order the sniper to shoot at him. If you just target the squad he'll kill a bodyguard.
I identify as a four-eyed bird man. /s

Offline Alexander 'ApeMen' J.

  • Global Moderator
  • Poster of the Soviet Union
  • *
  • Posts: 4649
  • Against Jabba and what he has done!
    • View Profile
    • The StarWars Rap :D
Re: Command Squad and Starting Squad
« Reply #4 on: September 22, 2012, 04:46:20 PM »
The Commander gets sniped because he has higher sniper priority...He gets gunned first because he's an infantry unit that can detect.

He gets only sniped if you order the sniper to shoot at him. If you just target the squad he'll kill a bodyguard.

indeed
the CS has the lowest prio for the sniper so if you want to kill danko you have to klick on him by yourself



Offline Cranialwizard

  • Donor
  • Poster of the Soviet Union
  • *
  • Posts: 3270
  • Unknown Soldier
    • View Profile
Re: Command Squad and Starting Squad
« Reply #5 on: September 22, 2012, 06:07:22 PM »
The Commander gets sniped because he has higher sniper priority...He gets gunned first because he's an infantry unit that can detect.

He gets only sniped if you order the sniper to shoot at him. If you just target the squad he'll kill a bodyguard.

indeed
the CS has the lowest prio for the sniper so if you want to kill danko you have to klick on him by yourself

This must have been changed. I thought we had the priorities different. Ah well :P
"Balancers are 10 a penny"

Offline Alexander 'ApeMen' J.

  • Global Moderator
  • Poster of the Soviet Union
  • *
  • Posts: 4649
  • Against Jabba and what he has done!
    • View Profile
    • The StarWars Rap :D
Re: Command Squad and Starting Squad
« Reply #6 on: September 22, 2012, 07:21:14 PM »
i think we have this since 1.5 :P



Offline krupp steel

  • Major
  • *****
  • Posts: 502
    • View Profile
Re: Command Squad and Starting Squad
« Reply #7 on: September 23, 2012, 06:27:43 PM »
Would it hurt to make Danko so it takes only 2 sniper shots instead of 1?  He is a Major after all.  Lieutants from other factions take 3 snipes.
« Last Edit: December 07, 2014, 09:26:29 PM by 132 »
My personal favorite

Offline Pac-Fish

  • Axis Commander
  • Poster of the Soviet Union
  • *
  • Posts: 2494
  • Waka Waka Gluba Gulba
    • View Profile
Re: Command Squad and Starting Squad
« Reply #8 on: September 23, 2012, 06:38:47 PM »
That would make him way too powerful. If he could take 3 sniper shots he could just run up to you and kill you your sniper since he has detection.

Om Nom Nom Nom
"Panzer-Guppy ready for battle!"
"Ha Ha Ha! We have the ZEAL!"
"Grenadiers! Fall In!!"

Offline krupp steel

  • Major
  • *****
  • Posts: 502
    • View Profile
Re: Command Squad and Starting Squad
« Reply #9 on: September 23, 2012, 07:51:36 PM »
His pistol is not very powerful enough to instagib snipers at all, especially since it is only effective close range and not accurate.
« Last Edit: December 07, 2014, 09:27:29 PM by 132 »
My personal favorite

Offline Alexander 'ApeMen' J.

  • Global Moderator
  • Poster of the Soviet Union
  • *
  • Posts: 4649
  • Against Jabba and what he has done!
    • View Profile
    • The StarWars Rap :D
Re: Command Squad and Starting Squad
« Reply #10 on: September 23, 2012, 09:44:42 PM »
tbh danko is fine like he is :D
i dont think we have an issue here ^^



Offline TheVolskinator

  • Guard
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
    • View Profile
    • Deutschland’s Mächtiger Ostheer!
Re: Command Squad and Starting Squad
« Reply #11 on: October 17, 2012, 10:15:42 PM »
Soviets lack a starting squad because there's no entry for the Soviet's HQ in starting_positions under starting_marker_ext. It also balances the fact you can build the CS (strong combat squad) as soon as you build a barracks, which would be up too fast if you started with ingenery. Soviets have a large manpower reserve at the start instead.
Quote from: Pocketsize
I can't wait till they add british to CoH:O; the extreme forces leveled by the new imbalances will create a black hole around the servers that destroys half of Canada.

Offline Dann88

  • Soviet Commander
  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 513
    • View Profile
Re: Command Squad and Starting Squad
« Reply #12 on: October 18, 2012, 03:57:18 AM »
Wait! So the Ostheer isn't going to have a starting unit too? So the builder have to call-in or build 1st like SU? ;D
I'm drunk now, I'm outranked you in philosophy.

Offline Otto Halfhand

  • Donor
  • Mr. Spam
  • *
  • Posts: 1166
    • View Profile
Re: Command Squad and Starting Squad
« Reply #13 on: October 18, 2012, 05:09:58 AM »
I think the Sovs should have a starting squad. An NKVD border guard would be fine. The early argument that the Sovs can get the command squad out right of way does mean much when the wehr can get a sniper out in the same amount of time and still be capping with his pio.
« Last Edit: October 19, 2012, 03:23:34 AM by Otto Halfhand »
孫 The
EF_v1.7.10
子 Art
Illegitimi non Carborundum -"Vinegar" Joe Stilwell
兵 of
Sun Tzu says: In warfare one compels and is not compelled by others
法 War

Offline Alexander 'ApeMen' J.

  • Global Moderator
  • Poster of the Soviet Union
  • *
  • Posts: 4649
  • Against Jabba and what he has done!
    • View Profile
    • The StarWars Rap :D
Re: Command Squad and Starting Squad
« Reply #14 on: October 18, 2012, 02:23:56 PM »
Wait! So the Ostheer isn't going to have a starting unit too? So the builder have to call-in or build 1st like SU? ;D


no ostheer starts with 2 units but therefore you need more time to get your first builded unit out of your t1/t2


@otto
this is nothing we can discuss
soviets wont get an starting unit